Miami wins NBA title!

Miami stole Oklahoma’s thunder this year and took home the Larry O’Brien trophy in game 5 of the NBA basketball finals in Miami, Florida on June 21st. Miami Heat beat Oklahoma City Thunder 121-106 to claim the NBA title this year. The champions reeled off four straight wins to take the series 4-1.

LeBron James led the team to victory with an outstanding team effort against their opponents. James was also named the MVP (Most Valuable Player) of the series for his brilliant all-round game, posting a triple-double with 26 points, 11 rebounds and a game high 13 assists. James has won the crown in his third trip to the finals and joined in with the euphoric celebrations at the American Airlines Arena by jumping and waving with a beaming smile as the clock ran down. As confetti rained down upon him from the rafters, he accepted his MVP award from the Boston Celtics great Bill Russell after handing off the golden NBA championship trophy. The 27 year old James was dominant throughout the series but in the Game 5 clincher he had tremendous assistance from all his team-mates as six heat players scored in double figures including Chris Bosh with 24 and reserve Mike Millers with 23. The Heat’s gained confidence as the game proceeded and made 14 of 26 three pointers to tie the record for most long range baskets in the finals. They sent the crowd into frenzy after they scored 31-26 in the first quarter and then extended their lead by 10 points by halftime and an additional 16 points in the third quarter for a huge 25 point lead. The losing thunder team was led by three-time NBA champion Kevin Durant with 32 points and Russell Westbrook and James harden adding 19 points each.


Switch to our mobile site